An Open Letter to Renee Fisher…from a Pre-Menopausal Black Woman (and Fan of Kanye’s…Music – Who Hates the Treadmill)

Dear Renee Fisher,

I read your Open Letter to Kanye West and was compelled to respond with a different [read: subjective] perspective of Kanye West and his eccentricities. While your introduction to Kanye was through an article in US Magazine and Yahoo News, I have been familiar with him for quite a while. Since his album The College Dropout was released in 2003, I have been a fan of his music and talent as a producer [He was on the scene much earlier than 2003.]. No, I’m not always a fan of what he says or does but I respect his artistry. From the US Magazine article and Yahoo News, you learned the following: He stormed the stage when Taylor Swift was accepting her award for Best Female Video at the 2009 MTV Video Music Awards [not the Grammys]. He is Kim Kardashian’s fiance and the father of their daughter North [I refuse to use the term ‘Baby Daddy’ here as it has so many connotations of which I am hoping you are not aware…because that would change the context of this post. (Yes, I realize there has been much decontextualization of the phrase to suggest its applicable across race, class, etc. BUT…context means so much and in this letter, the context is suspect.)]. And during an interview with Ryan Seacrest, he made a statement about First Lady Michelle Obama that added more members to the ‘I Don’t Like [read (for some): HATE] Kanye West’ club. There is much more to Kanye West than what you learned from a magazine article, BUT prior to discussing those factors, I must address the issues that situate your introduction to him.

In 2009, Taylor Swift won the MTV VMA award for Best Female Video for “You Belong to Me” over some noteworthy competition (Beyonce, Katy Perry, Lady Gaga, Kelly Clarkson, and Pink). I watched in amazement when Kanye ran on stage during Taylor’s acceptance speech and said, “Yo Taylor, I’m really happy for you. I’ma let you finish, but Beyonce had one of the best videos of all time.” OUCH! I doubt Kanye knew just how much of a defining moment that would be for both him and Taylor. People were outraged. The blogs, news feeds, entertainment websites, etc. went crazy with Kanye criticism. Even President Barack Obama weighed in on Kanye’s statement and called him a “jacksass”. I agree, Kanye definitely made a jackass move. I felt bad for Taylor and so did Beyonce, who called Taylor on stage during her [Beyonce] win for Video of the Year to let Taylor “have her moment”. Wait, Beyonce won Video of the Year? So her video really was the best video nominated? Hmm…let’s see. Both “Single Ladies” and “You Belong to Me” have been parodied numerous times. However, only “Single Ladies” has been parodied by one of the most iconic sketch comedy and variety shows, Saturday Night Live. Only “Single Ladies” inspires grown men, senior women, and flash mobs to put on their heels [or flats] to perform their version of the song. Only “Single Ladies” won several other awards including the award for 2008 Popjustice Readers’ Poll Best Dance Routine; 2009 MTV Video Music Awards for Video of the Year, Best Choreography, and Best Editing; 2009 MTV Europe Music Awards for Best Video; AND 2009 BET Awards for Best Video. These awards are in addition to many other nominations, recognitions, etc. “You Belong to Me” won…uhm…well, it won the VMA Best Female Video award. Apparently, “Single Ladies (Put a Ring on It)” IS one of the best videos of all time. Soooooo, while Kanye’s interruption likely was not the best decision, he was right. It’s his context that was wrong.

Through US Magazine and Yahoo News, you also learned that Kanye has a daughter with Kim Kardashian. Yes, they have a daughter. No, they are not yet married. Yes, she has been married previously. Yes, they are engaged. There’s not much more to say about that. However, as we in the oh-so-cultureless popular culture world say, “It is what it is.”

One of your main issues with Kanye as identified in the letter was the statement he made about First Lady Michelle Obama during an interview with Ryan Seacrest. He said, “Nobody’s paying attention to what the Obama’s are wearing. Michelle Obama can’t Instagram a pic like what my girl Instagramed the other day”. No, the First Lady cannot Instagram a picture like Kim did and we would not expect her to do so. I agree with you on that point. However, when listening to that section of the interview in its entirety [as I doubt you have done] and considering that statement within the context, Kanye’s words could be interpreted in several ways. As I understood it, Kanye suggested that his fiancé is an inspiration to the fashion world, more so than the First Lady. Well, to some extent and in some contexts, he is right again. Wait…before you say I’m crazy…read on. No matter our opinion of Kim (and I don’t understand the negativity), she is an influential person in fashion. People pay attention to what she wears. Now, this is not to say that the First Lady is not just as influential, but she is influential in a different context. For the popular culture audience, what Kim wears is more likely to have more of an impact than what the First Lady wears. If I’m looking to purchase a cute dress, I’m more inclined to purchase one from the Kardashian line at Sears before I purchase one from Tory Burch or J. Crew [one of the First Lady’s favorite stores]. Why? Tory Burch is out of my price range and J. Crew is more for the close-to/post-menopausal, upper/middle class, ultra conservative, soccer mom. And I’m a little more pre-menopausal, working/slightly middle class [Yes, I’m a professor…but I feel working class.], liberal, screaming football mom. Of course, whenever the First Lady wears an item, it sells out of the stores. So yes, we DO pay attention to the First Lady’s clothing. She is VERY influential. And we appreciate that, in addition to wearing the high fashion pieces, she wears affordable pieces from stores like the Gap, H&M, and Target. But let’s be honest, when a pre-menopausal 18-40ish female thinks fashion, it’s very unlikely that she first thinks First Lady Michelle Obama. Again, it’s all about context. So maybe Kanye’s most significant gaffe in his brief mention of the First Lady was that he did not consider context.  

There were a few others ideas expressed in your letter that had me scratching my head. First, the suggestion that popular culture is not culture is ludicrous (to me). Second, Kanye made the statement about the First Lady, not Kim. So as woman, I was surprised and dismayed that you used the letter as an opportunity to highlight your perceptions of Kim as just a “giant booty”. Third, I’m not feeling the mention of Kanye as being minimally worthy of “taking up space with talking dogs”. There’s just something about the contention that a person is not as worthy as an animal that makes me feel some type of way. [The ‘some type of way’ is one of those cultureless popular culture statements.]

Your definition of culture indicates that culture is a “human intellectual achievement” that defines society and serves as a legacy for future generations. It is the contributions of arts, government, and science/mathematics left to us by the Roman Empire, the Pharaonic Egyptians, and the ancient Asian dynasties. Popular culture, on the other hand [as I interpreted your statements], is a mere following of untalented, minimally intellectual, working class and poor people who love only fashion, sports, writing, and reality television. With this contention, I have to disagree. Popular culture IS culture. There are a number of academic journals, websites, conferences, etc. that serve as spaces to examine the many ways in which popular culture impacts on our daily lives. Popular culture scholars analyze the intersections of race, ethnicity, gender, class, sexuality, religion, etc. with media, technology and access. Popular culture shapes our world and contributes to arts, government, science/mathematics, and politics. The fact that you were able to write and circulate your open letter to Kanye West is due to popular culture. So don’t knock it…when you benefit from it.

Kim Kardashian is a beautiful woman. She is famous for being a beautiful woman, or as Kanye acknowledged, “My girl’s a superstar all from a home movie“. For some reason, many people seem to be upset that she’s famous for being famous. Based on your comments, I wonder if you are one of those people. Your words demonstrated that we women are indeed tougher on one another than we are on men. You described Kim as being nothing more than a fantasy and critiqued her for capitalizing on her looks. You further noted that we are only fascinated with Kim because of the clothes she wears [read: You agree with Kanye, huh?]. But is that a bad thing? Are we not fascinated with models because of the clothes they wear? Are we not fascinated with designers because of the clothes they design for models to wear? Going back to the discussion of popular culture being culture, are we not still enamoured with Marilyn Monroe, Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis and Princess Diana because of the clothes they wore? Yes, Marilyn was an actress. Jackie O. was a First Lady. Diana was the Princess of Wales and a community activist. However, when we first think of these women, do we not remember them primarily because of the clothes they wore? Do we not view them as fashion icons [read: popular culture icons]? So please tell me, what’s wrong with being the source of fascination all because of what you are wearing? [read again: I’m not sure if you noticed this, but your focus on Kim as a mere result of the interest in what she’s wearing gives some credibility to Kanye’s statement. She IS fashionably influential.] 

Finally, I get that you were trying to suggest that Kanye is insignificant, as a talking dog would be (to you). But the attempt to define him as a classless, unintellectual, pretentious, self-absorbed, and insignificant person missed the mark and is in need of rebuttal. Since you are not sure what classism is, there is no need to address that part of your letter. I would describe Kanye in a number of ways, but unintellectual is not one of them. I will even agree that he is sometimes pretentious and self-absorbed. But he is also passionate, outspoken, creative, driven and extremely talented. For many people, the pretentiousness and absorption seem to outweigh the other personality traits. Not for me. For me, Kanye is complex. In a recent interview on Jimmy Kimmel, Kanye stated, “So you are going to love me, or you’re going to hate me, but I’m going to be me”. He’s going to be Kanye. He makes statements about political figures when others in the public eye will not. He loved [and lost] the most important woman in the world to him in 2007 [and arguably hasn’t been ‘right’ since that time]. He looks forward to parenting his daughter and adores his fiancé.  He aggravates people with his actions and words, most recently by sporting the Confederate flag on a jacket. He is imperfect. He thinks highly of himself as an artist. He gives back to his community [although there are reports that indicate otherwise]. He is complex…and yes, he is significant [as evidenced by your letter, my response, and the media frenzy that constantly surrounds him]. Don’t get me wrong, you are not alone in your disdain for Kanye. Many people have applauded your letter and reposted it to various sites. I am not surprised. From news outlets to blogs to social networking sites, people love to hate [such a strong word] Kanye West. I’m just not one of those people.

As I read your letter, I had to read it in its context: coming from a White post-menopausal anti-popular culture woman whose introduction to Kanye probably was incited by the boredom of being on the most awful piece of exercise equipment imaginable – the treadmill. Of course, Kanye rubs some people the wrong way, but there’s good in him [especially in his music] like there’s good in all of us [despite our flaws]. Try to see that G.O.O.D. Music in him. And the next time you’re on the treadmill in need of motivation, instead of thumbing through a popular culture magazine or scrolling through search engine news feeds, listen to Kanye’s “The New Workout Plan“. Or listen to the entire The College Dropout album. I’m not saying it will make you any less disgusted with Kanye, but it will definitely make your treadmill time go by a little faster and keep you from being “sucked into” the cultureless world of popular culture.

Qiana

Eclectic GRITS

nilah monet

7 responses to “An Open Letter to Renee Fisher…from a Pre-Menopausal Black Woman (and Fan of Kanye’s…Music – Who Hates the Treadmill)

  1. Dear Nilah, Great name. Great blog post. I’m delighted to respond. Virtually all of my humor is satiric. I tend to play fast and loose with the facts in order to make my point. But the point is the serious part. Mostly I deal with creepy and dangerous politicians and world leaders, news events, inane research, my own mishaps, and various boomer-related topics. When I wrote the post about Kanye, I was seriously annoyed with one more example of his outsize ego. But first: I know who Kanye is. I believe he is a credible musician. I also believe he is a smart guy with talents that go beyond music. I just got angry when I read parts of his interview with Ryan Seacrest. I thought my blog post would be received like all others, and initially, it was.
    Then HuffPost reprinted it, and the floodgates opened. Then Twitter, and the water kept rising. Almost 6000 people have posted my post on their Facebook pages. I’ve been called brilliant and a hero by people of all ages and all races. I’ve been called a stupid racist by people of all ages and all races. The overwhelming number of responses have been positive. A small percentage have presented me as the devil incarnate and have used words to describe me that I would reserve for the legendary tyrants of history. About the only person I haven’t heard from yet is Kanye, himself.
    I get loud and clear that my personal rant against Kanye’s ability to offend people has tapped into a a mighty deep well of feelings that go well beyond music and pop culture. Had I written about Justin Bieber/Beiber, I don’t think the response would have been the same. Yes, of course, some commentors have taken me to task about my not recognizing Kanye’s talent as much as they do. But I think that’s a small part of it.
    I’ve already regretted a couple of things I wrote. Even my husband took me to task for making a distinction between pop culture and culture. But, and this is important: I said we ALL appreciate popular culture. I don’t know anyone, rich or poor, white or non-white, educated or not, who doesn’t. We ALL create popular culture and popular culture belongs to all of us. We are the people, and this is our culture.
    I will always regret having used the phrase “baby daddy,” which is derogatory. I will never use it again.
    What set me off was (from what I read of the interview) his almost whiny tone about classism (yes, I know what classism is-I was being sarcastic when I wrote that I didn’t) preventing him from achieving all of his goals. I thought hell, the man made a name for himself in hip hop, a musical genre that was created by black people. It’s not like he was trying to become a concert violinist and was held back because of his race,. And yes, I know he is more than hip hop. And yes, I know he has branched out since then into production and the fashion world. But honestly, I can’t feel sorry for him.
    You know, that phrase “You are going to love me or hate me but I gotta be me?” Well, I have an opinion about that, as well. I think that’s fine. But it imposes a serious limit to what one can achieve. The people who have achieved the most in their lives and who have impacted the most on others have been the ones who were able to enroll others in their vision, not alienate them. Nelson Mandela changed a country from a jail cell. Ghandi did the same.
    I’m sorry I said anything about Kim Kardashian. She’s doing a fine job of promoting herself without my help. I don’t dislike her or like her. For me, she is an example of style without substance. There are lots of people like that in the world now.
    Another clarification: I didn’t say Kanye was insignificant. My point about the talking dog (I love dogs, although a talking dog might be annoying) was that our insatiable lust for “news” of any kind means that anything that titillates us is put out there, front and center. And Kanye, with his never-ending ability to offend people has every word he utters become “news.” I guess my analogy wasn’t expressed well.
    So I think that a lot of the negative reaction to what I wrote has been less about Kanye the man than about feelings on all sides of what they perceive as racial stereotype, cultural or class stereotype, or in some cases, ageism (yes, that does exist). I regret that anyone, anywhere, would be insulted by what I wrote (unless they are the people I want to insult, but most of them are fans of Fox News).
    I do thank you for commenting on my blog and letting me know you have written this post on your blog. I think it would be mighty interesting to sit down with you sometime and have a real talk. I wish you all the best.
    Renee
    PS Kanye, if you are reading this, shoot me an email.

    • Hello Renee,

      Thank you for taking the time to read and respond to my blog. As you noted, you received many responses and reposts about your letter, so I am appreciative that you took the time to respond to me. And thank you for your clarifications of some of the statements you made in the letter. Regarding the discussion of classism, I still think that there is some area of contention. Particularly, the following statement in the letter stands out: “I thought hell, the man made a name for himself in hip hop, a musical genre that was created by black people. It’s not like he was trying to become a concert violinist and was held back because of his race.” You are equating racism to classism, and while there is a distinctive relationship between the two, the statement is an example of Kanye’s contentions regarding classism. Basically, he attempted to explain that he has not been able to achieve what he feels he could achieve in the fashion industry because the classist structures in fashion suggest that he’s not good enough. So the statement about him being successful in hip hop (in comparison to being a concert violinist) suggests that he is successful in the primarily black genre of hip hop, so he should be satisfied. THIS is the classism that he was talking about. No matter his talent (and yes, I think he has a talent for fashion as well), he is not able to cross over to fashion with as much acceptance because he IS a rap artist. Should he only want to design urban wear, he would be supported because of course…rappers should design urban clothing, right? [Sarcasm] So what he is saying [as I interpret it] is that the elitism of the fashion industry relegates him to being great…at music and only at music. He’s not good enough for their fashion world because he’s just a hip hop artist. And that’s about as classist and elitist as one can get.

      Again, thank you for the response. I enjoy engaging in dialogue where individuals can bring further understanding to one another. Should the opportunity ever present itself for us to further clarify our contentions, I’d be interested in the conversation.

      Qiana
      Nilah Monet
      eclectic_GRITS

      • I love this give and take.
        Kanye made a name for himself in a field that supported him as a black artist. Because of that, it was easier for him to at least get a foothold into other areas. Had he initially wanted to become a concert violinist, he would have had a much more difficult road ahead of him. Those who break barriers always have to be better than those who came before. No one should ever be content with what they have achieved, as long as they want more/different. That holds across races, genders, ages. I speak to women and my message is that as women, especially women over age 50, we often set the bar too low for ourselves, because we have spent our lives supporting others (spouses, children, grandchildren, parents). As gratifying as that might be, we are capable of more if we desire more.
        Now, let’s talk fashion: While the fashion industry has, historically, been dominated by whites, there are now a growing number of young high fashion designers out there. They don’t design urban wear. They design for the same affluent market as their white and Asian counterparts do. They are brilliant, they are successful, and they are black. Could it possibly be that Kanye’s interpretation of “You are not good enough?” then became “You are not white enough?”
        Because I haven’t seen his high fashion designs, I can’t have an opinion of his talent. But, honestly, I have to believe that someone named Kanye West has a much better chance of having his designs looked at than someone named Renee Fisher. The design industry is cutthroat, with tons of extremely talented people scrabbling for a few coveted spots on the runway. Heidi Klum was rejected from being a runway model because she was deemed too sexy. She chose another path and ultimately became far more successful than she would have as merely as a model. I just can’t feel sorry for Kanye in this regard.
        Should Kanye strive to be even more than he is? Of course, if that is his choice. Should Kanye be aware of classism and racism? Of course. It is a reality. Should Kanye blame his inability to achieve his goals because of classism and racism? No. He has the name, the brains, and the entre to become a high fashion designer. The real question is, does he have that degree of talent? If he truly does, he can make it happen. Without being a victim to anyone.
        Renee

Leave a Reply

